NRL: Who will be crowned champions in 2016?

NRL Cowboys winThe North Queensland Cowboys earned one of the most dramatic victories in NRL history when they defeated the Brisbane Broncos in the 2015 Grand Final in October. While we are still a few months away from the start of the new season, we thought we’d take a look ahead at some of the contenders for next year’s title. Can the Cowboys defy the odds and defend their title in 2016?

North Queensland Cowboys

It would be foolish to write off the defending champions. Last season, the Cowboys played some scintillating, attacking rugby league and scored 587 points – just four shy of the league-leading tally set by the Sydney Roosters. Johnathan Thurston, widely regarded as the best player in the sport, was instrumental for the Cowboys last season, scoring 176 points in the regular season.

In the Grand Final, Thurston scored the decisive field goal to clinch the title and send the Cowboys fans into raptures. North Queensland at odds of $7.00 for the title will be hoping for another immense effort from their talisman in 2016.

Sydney Roosters

After topping the table in the 2015 regular season, the Roosters will be chomping at the bit and should once again feature in the latter stages of the finals in 2016. Sydney, who are priced at $7.00 to win the trophy next season, were thrashed 31-12 by the Brisbane Broncos in the preliminary finals and will believe that they can press on and compete for yet another title in 2016.

James Maloney is their star man and will be key for the Roosters if they are to challenge for silverware. He racked up 226 points in the regular season last year, kicking a league-leading 94 goals. He is a huge influence on that Sydney side and they tend to shine when he’s on form.

NRL Roosters

There are a number of teams who are there or thereabouts and could compete for the crown if they perform at their very best. Punters still have plenty of time to assess every team across the league and look to pick out their NRL tips and spot the eventual winner of the Grand Final. Next season, supporters are expecting one of the closest years in recent memory and fans will be treated to some phenomenal rugby league.

So, who will win it in 2016? The North Queensland Cowboys stand a great chance if they keep all of their top players fit. They are a decent unit but did exceed expectations last season and many will expect the Brisbane Broncos at $5.50 and Sydney Roosters to push them close in 2016. However, with a bit of luck, the Cowboys could indeed defend their crown next season.

Rate this post
November 7, 2015 by : Posted in Blog No Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.